Rutland Regional Emergency Management Committee (REMC)

Meeting Minutes for Wednesday, March 29, 2023 – 5:30 pm Rutland Regional Planning Commission – Large Conference Room

> MS Teams Meeting Log-in Information: Join on your computer or mobile app

Meeting ID: 257 893 713 035 Passcode: qJnZ6q Call in (audio only): 802-440-1368, Phone ID: 807 684 586#

I. Voting Member Roll Call

Vice Chair Sotirakis convened the meeting at 5:32 pm, and Maggie O'Brien conducted the voting member roll call. A quorum of voting members was not present, so non-binding decisions were made by consensus for this meeting. Sotirakis reported the need to elect a new Chair after David Atherton's departure from the committee.

II. Approval of Agenda

It was agreed by consensus of the voting members present that the agenda be approved.

III. Approval of December 14, 2022 Minutes

It was agreed by consensus of the voting members present that the minutes of the December 14, 2022 meeting be approved.

IV. Binary Blizzard Buildup (B3) Update

O'Brien provided a rundown on the "Binary Blizzard Buildup" activities held since the December 14 meeting, as well as ongoing planning efforts for future events. She provided a summary of findings from the Vulnerable Population Communication Protocol Roundtable Review held earlier in the month and encouraged the committee to review the official memo (sent by email) for more details. She also reminded the committee of the May 1st deadline for the Local Emergency Management Plan (LEMP) and associated forms, such as those for the Public Works Mutual Aid Agreement.

V. American Red Cross (ARC) Guest Speaker(s) – Disaster Operations

John Montes, the Regional Disaster Officer for the Northern NE Region, presented the ARC Disaster Cycle Services with assistance from Michaela Olin and Lyndsey Morin. Every Disaster Cycle Services operation receives a designated organizational level based on incident complexity. Given this, Montes explored the facets of any given operation, including budget levels, leadership priorities, scaling and assessment, resource management, and collecting essential elements of information, among others. He emphasized the role ARC can serve in assisting local Emergency Management Directors (EMDs) and the services available based on volunteer worker capacity.

VI. REMC Representative Reports

- a. Statewide Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) Representative, Bob Morlino
 - i. Morlino stated there had not been any meetings, but one is in the planning stage and may happen within or after three weeks.
- b. Threat Hazard Identification and Assessment and State Preparedness Report **(THIRA/SPR)** Representative, Michael Ramsey
 - i. Ramsey stated he had nothing to report since the THIRA gathering in Fall 2022.

VII. REMC Annual Organizational Tasks

- a. Appointments
 - i. Chair The committee agreed to elect the Chair by shared consensus, given the pending changes to REMC quorum within the State Legislature. It was agreed by consensus to elect Ramsey as the new Chair.
 - ii. Integrated Preparedness and Planning Workshop **(IPPW)** Rep O'Brien briefed the group on the purpose of the IPPW and the expected duties of the representative. It was agreed by consensus to elect Tom Johnston as the IPPW Rep.
- b. Review/Update Bylaws
 - i. Update term for Statewide LEPC Rep to 3 years As dictated by the Bylaws, this amendment was discussed, and there were no suggested changes. The amendment will be voted upon at the next REMC meeting.
- c. Review/Update Regional Plan for 2023
 - i. Leadership roles Will be updated to reflect current leadership by the next REMC meeting.
 - ii. Appendix A: Voting Members by Municipality Will be updated to reflect current voting members by the next REMC meeting.

VIII. Open to the public

Abby Spiegelman asked Eric Pulver to introduce himself to the group. Pulver is the new Emergency Preparedness Specialist with the Department of Health.

IX. Next Meeting - Wednesday, June 28, 2023 @ 5:30 pm

The meeting adjourned at 6:53 pm. The next meeting of the REMC will be held on Wednesday, June 28, 2023.

Rutland Regional Emergency Management Committee (REMC) Voting Members 2022-2023 as of 3/29/2023

Voting Members							
Town	First Name	Last Name	Title	Present	Proxy Given		
Benson	Paul	Davoren	EMD		Y		
Benson	Jerod	Glover	Fire Rep	1	Y		
Brandon	Seth	Hopkins	EMD	1	Y		
Brandon	Tom	Kilpeck	Fire Chief		Y		
Castleton	Michael	Jones	EMD		Y		
Castleton	Peter	Mantello	Police Chief	1	Y		
Chittenden	Bob	Case	EMD - designee	1	Y		
Chittenden	Jan	Sotirakis	Fire Rep	1	Y		
Clarendon	Matt	Jakubowski	Fire Chief				
Clarendon	Craig	Кпарр	EMD - designee				
Danby	Tom	Johnston	Fire Rep	1	Y		
Danby	Shelley	Taylor	EMD - designee		Y		
Fair Haven	Jim	Heller	EMD				
Fair Haven	Bill	Humphries	Police Chief				
Hubbardton	Rick	Grabowski	Fire Rep				
Hubbardton	Janet	Morey	EMD - designee				
Ira	Bob	Toppin	EMD				
Ira							
Killington	Chris	LaHart	EMD				
Killington	Thomas	Rock	Deputy Chief				
Mendon	Lema	Carter	Constable				
Mendon	Val	Taylor	EMD-designee				
Middletown Springs	Herb	Childress	EMD				
Middletown Springs	Terry	Redfield	Fire Rep				
Mount Holly	Jeff	Chase	EMD	1	Y		
Mount Holly	Jon	McCann	Fire Rep	1	Y		
Mount Tabor	Phil	Lidstone	EMD				
Mount Tabor	Tom	Johnston	Fire Rep				
Pawlet	Jay	Luebke	ЕМС	1	Y		
Pawlet	Robert	Morlino	Fire Rep	1	Y		
Pittsford	Tim	Cornell	Fire Rep				
Pittsford	Steve	Shortsleeves	EMD-designee				
Poultney	Paul	Donaldson	EMD				
Poultney	Aaron	Kerber	Fire Chief				
Proctor	Michael	Ramsey	EMD	1	Y		
Proctor	Kevin	Blongy	Fire Rep		Y		
Rutland City	Bill	Lovett	EMD	1	Y		
Rutland City	Dan	Gedney	Fire Rep		Y		
Rutland Town	Martin	Wasserman	EMD				
Rutland Town	Bill	Sweet	Fire Rep				
Shrewsbury	Aaron	Korzun	EMD				
Shrewsbury	Jack	Perry	Fire Rep				
Sudbury	Steve	Sgorbati	EMD				
Sudbury		5					
Tinmouth	Vacant		EMD				
Tinmouth	Ray	Pratt	EMC				
Wallingford	Jim	Bagnall	EMD	1	Y		
Wallingford	Michael	Hughes	Fire Chief		Ŷ		

Rutland Regional Emergency Management Committee (REMC) Voting Members 2022-2023 as of 3/29/2023

Town	First Name	Last Name	Title	Present	Proxy Given
Wells	Todd	Fenton	Fire Chief		
Wells	Don	Preuss	EMD-designee		
West Haven	Rod	Ethier	EMD		Y
West Haven	Kerry	Ellis	Law Enforcement - designee	1	Y
West Rutland	Mary Ann	Goulette	EMD		Y
West Rutland	Michael	Skaza	Fire Chief	1	Y
Quorum Requirements: 26 out of 51 present				15	24

Quorum Requirements: 26 out of 51 present

A quorum is defined as a majority of voting members, including proxies, being present.

Non-Voting Members				
Organization	First Name	e Last Name	Presen	
American Red Cross	Michaela	Olin	1	
American Red Cross	Lyndsey	Morin	1	
American Red Cross	John	Montes	1	
Town of Brandon	Tim	Guiles	1	
Town of Pawlet	Jacki	Becker	1	
RADART	Nancee	Schaffner	1	
Rutland Regional Medical Center	Abby	Spiegelman	1	
Rutland Regional Planning Commission	Maggie	O'Brien	1	
Vermont Dept. of Health	Eric	Pulver	1	
Vermont Emergency Management	Taiga	Christie	1	
			10	