Rutland Regional Emergency Management Committee (REMC)

Meeting Minutes for Wednesday, December 14, 2022 – 5:30 pm Rutland Regional Planning Commission – Large Conference Room

MS Teams Meeting Log-in Information:

Join on your computer or mobile app

Meeting ID: 292 701 195 387 Passcode: Tcn37V Call in (audio only): 802-440-1368, Phone ID: 716 486 89#

Meeting Attendees: See Attached

I. Voting Member Roll Call

Chair Atherton convened the meeting at 5:42 pm, and Maggie O'Brien conducted the voting member roll call. A quorum of voting members was not present, so non-binding decisions were made by consensus for this meeting. Chair Atherton noted that this was the first meeting of the 2023 federal fiscal year.

II. Approval of Agenda

It was agreed by consensus of the voting members present that the agenda be approved.

III. Approval of September 28, 2022 Minutes

It was agreed by consensus of the voting members present that the minutes of the September 28, 2022 meeting be approved.

IV. Binary Blizzard Buildup (B3) Update

O'Brien updated the committee on progress made to build capacity at the local and regional levels for meaningful participation in the state's October 2024 "Binary Blizzard" functional exercise. She also brought to the committee's attention a regional sheltering training that will be provided by the Red Cross on January 31st, 2023. This is one of many activities planned for the next two years that will help build regional capacity. She then introduced the guest speakers for this session, commenting on the significance of the Long-Term Power Outage (LTPO) focus.

V. GMP & VEM Guest Speaker – Long-Term Power Outages

Ken Couture from Green Mountain Power (GMP) and Glenn Herrin from Vermont Emergency Management (VEM) led the committee through an LTPO scenario to discuss what a regional response might look like. They elaborated on the roles and responsibilities of GMP and VEM in such a scenario and encouraged the committee to consider their Town's role in supporting residents, including their current resource capacity. O'Brien introduced some guiding questions to use as a potential framework for the construction of a local LTPO annex (to be worked on in 2023).

VI. REMC Representative Reports

- a. Statewide Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) Representative, Bob Morlino
 - i. Morlino was not present at the meeting; O'Brien provided an update on his behalf, stating there is nothing to report given the lack of meetings or communication from the LEPC.
- b. Threat Hazard Identification and Assessment and State Preparedness Report (THIRA/SPR) Representative, Michael Ramsey
 - i. Ramsey's report summarized the activities that took place at the October 2022 THIRA gathering. He commented that it was well attended by a variety of stakeholders and an excellent review of Vermont's capacity to respond to a number of disaster or emergency scenarios.

VII. REMC Annual Organizational Tasks

- a. Review/Update Bylaws update term for Statewide LEPC Rep to 3 years
 - i. This item went unaddressed and will be discussed at the next meeting.
- b. Appointments
 - i. Chair and Vice Chair It was agreed by consensus that Atherton remain the Chair and Jan Sotirakis remain the Vice Chair.
 - ii. Statewide LEPC Rep Jay Lubeke confirmed Morlino's interest in reappointment. It was agreed by consensus that Morlino remain the statewide LEPC.
 - iii. THIRA/SPR Rep It was agreed by consensus that Ramsey remain the THIRA/SPR Rep.
 - iv. IPPW Rep It was agreed by consensus of the voting members present that the appointment be tabled.
- c. Review meeting time for upcoming REMC Meetings
 - i. It was agreed by consensus of the voting members present that the meeting time for the committee remain the last Wednesday of the month at 5:30 PM for each quarter of the federal fiscal year.

VIII. Open to the public

There was no one from the public in attendance.

IX. Next Meeting – Wednesday, March 29, 2023 @ 5:30 pm

The meeting adjourned at 6:50 pm. The next meeting of the REMC will be held on Wednesday, March 29, 2023.

Rutland Regional Emergency Management Committee (REMC) Voting Members 2022-2023 as of 12/14/2022

Voting Members								
Town	First Name	Last Name	Title	Present	Proxy Given			
Benson Benson	Paul Sam	Davoren Bartholomew	EMD Eine Ben					
			Fire Rep EMD	1	V			
Brandon Brandon	David	Atherton		1	Y			
	Tom	Kilpeck	Fire Chief		Y			
Castleton	Michael	Jones Mantello	EMD Police Chief					
Castleton	Peter			1	.,			
Chittenden	Bob	Case Sotirakis	EMD - designee	1	Y			
Chittenden	Jan		Fire Rep	1	Y			
Clarendon	Matt	Jakubowski	Fire Chief	4	Y			
Clarendon	Craig	Knapp	EMD - designee	1	Y			
Danby	Tom	Johnston	Fire Rep					
Danby	Shelley	Taylor	EMD - designee					
Fair Haven	Jim	Heller	EMD					
Fair Haven	Bill	Humphries	Police Chief					
Hubbardton	Rick	Grabowski	Fire Rep					
Hubbardton	Janet	Morey	EMD - designee					
Ira	Bob	Toppin	EMD					
Ira			TIME.					
Killington	Chris	LaHart	EMD					
Killington	Thomas	Rock	Deputy Chief					
Mendon	Lema	Carter	Constable		Y			
Mendon	Val	Taylor	EMD-designee	1	Υ			
Middletown Springs	Herb	Childress	EMD	1	Y			
Middletown Springs	Terry	Redfield	Fire Rep		Y			
Mount Holly	Jeff	Chase	EMD	1	Y			
Mount Holly	Jon	McCann	Fire Rep	1	Υ			
Mount Tabor	Phil	Lidstone	EMD					
Mount Tabor	Tom	Johnston	Fire Rep					
Pawlet	Jay	Luebke	EMC	1	Y			
Pawlet	Robert	Morlino	Fire Rep		Υ			
Pittsford	Jason	Davis	EMD					
Pittsford	Tom	Hooker	Fire Rep					
Poultney	Paul	Donaldson	EMD-designee		Y			
Poultney	Aaron	Kerber	Fire Chief	1	Υ			
Proctor	Michael	Ramsey	EMD	1	Y			
Proctor	Kevin	Blongy	EMC/Fire Rep					
Rutland City	Bill	Lovett	EMD	1	Y			
Rutland City	Dan	Gedney	Fire Rep		Υ			
Rutland Town	Martin	Wasserman	EMD	1	Υ			
Rutland Town	Bill	Sweet	Fire Rep		Υ			
Shrewsbury	Aaron	Korzun	EMD	1	Υ			
Shrewsbury	Jack	Perry	Fire Rep	1	Υ			
Sudbury	Steve	Sgorbati	EMD					
Sudbury								
Tinmouth	Michael	Fannin	EMD	1	Υ			
Tinmouth	Ray	Pratt	ЕМС		Y			
Wallingford	Jim	Bagnall	EMD					
Wallingford	Michael	Hughes	Fire Chief					

Rutland Regional Emergency Management Committee (REMC) Voting Members 2022-2023 as of 12/14/2022

Town	First Name	Last Name	Title	Present	Proxy Given
Wells	Todd	Fenton	Fire Chief		
Wells	Don	Preuss	EMD-designee		
West Haven	Rod	Ethier	EMD		
West Haven	Kerry	Ellis	Law Enforcement - designee		
West Rutland	Mary Ann	Goulette	EMD		Υ
West Rutland	Michael	Skaza	Fire Chief	1	Υ
Quorum Requirements: 28 out of 54 present				16	26

Quorum Requirements: 28 out of 54 presentA quorum is defined as a majority of voting members, including proxies, being present.

Non-Voting Members

Organization	First Name	Last Name	Present
Green Mountain Power	Phil	Bourn	1
Green Mountain Power	Ken	Couture	1
RADART	Nancee	Schaffner	1
Rutland Mental Health	Loree	Zeif	1
Rutland Regional Medical Center	Abby	Spiegelman	1
Rutland Regional Planning Commission	Maggie	O'Brien	1
Vermont Dept. of Health	Renee	Bousquet	1
Vermont Emergency Management	Taiga	Christie	1
Vermont Emergency Management	Glenn	Herrin	1
_	·		

9